Propulsion Fundraising wins Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene’s 2021 Congressional App Challenge in Georgia’s 14th District

Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene has named Andrew Lemons from LaFayette High School as the winner of the 2021 Congressional App Challenge in Georgia’s 14th District.


When asked what inspired the creation of Propulsion Fundraising, the student said, “I created Propulsion to address issues I noticed with current school fundraising methods. I felt that the world of school fundraising had been left in limbo where it was trying to take advantage of technology but was ultimately not reaching its full potential. I wanted Propulsion to be everything that a modern fundraising platform should be. It should be able to handle modern payment methods, use incentives to encourage people to donate, and overall make fundraising an easy and enticing experience.”

The 2021 Congressional App Challenge yielded 2,101 fully functioning apps. After eighteen months of disruptions to educational cadences for students everywhere, the Congressional App Challenge came roaring back with 7,174 students registering for this year’s competition. All told, 340 Members of Congress hosted Congressional App Challenges in their districts across 50 states, Puerto Rico, Guam, the Mariana Islands, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and Washington, D.C.

The Congressional App Challenge is an official initiative of the U.S. House of Representatives, where Members of Congress host contests in their districts for middle school and high school students, encouraging them to learn to code and inspiring them to pursue careers in computer science. Each participating Member of Congress selects a winning app from their district, and each winning team is invited to showcase their winning app to Congress during our annual #HouseOfCode festival. The program is a public-private partnership made possible through funding from Omidyar Network, AWS, theCoderSchool, Facebook, Replit, Accenture, and others.

The 2022 Congressional App Challenge will launch in June of 2022, and eligible students can pre-register for the competition now.